Twitter: How beneficial is it?

I have been told numerous times that Twitter is a very effective social media tool.  I know people that have been offered a job by using Twitter, received great advice in a matter of minutes, and been informed of interesting news stories before finding it on an actual news website.  When I first started using the tool I had no idea who to follow.  I discovered Twitterholic, a website with the top 100 twitter users based on followers.  I found a lot of great people to follow that give out really interesting information. 

I am still learning a lot about Twitter.  One of the things about the program that really bothers me is the advertisers.  I really don’t want to follow someone that is just trying to sell me something, it’s not what I am using Twitter for.  I also have a hard time trying to figure out what to say.  I don’t like posting personal updates, because that is what I use my facebook for.  I find the benefits of Twitter through the groups that I follow.  I get updates from CNN, The University of Oregon, Nordstrom, and others.  I am hoping that once I get more comfortable with it I will be able to share information, not just receive it.  A website that I am beginning to get familiar with that really helps me is Twitturly, a service that tracks what URLs people are talking about as they talk about them on twitter. 

So in the end, I think Twitter is a very beneficial social media tool to be a part of.  Many employers use it, and expect you to use it as well.  It’s a great way to contact people with similar interests, and hear what they feel is important.  There are plenty of tools out there to help you get acquainted.

Leave a Reply

